6647ee3fa4844
1 Guest is here.

Topic: SS2 constantly crashing Read 3939 times  

6647ee3fa4e38
My specs as I can think of them currently:

Windows 7 32-bit

processor: AMD athlon II X2 250 Processor 3.00 GHz

4.00 GB RAM

(sorry I'm really new at asking about these kinds of things, or even computers in general)

I've used the great guides here to get System Shock 2 up and running. Only mods are Rebirth and SHTUP. I have also used Note++ to fix the use/shoot bind issue with the inventory.

I have the Modmanager and SSTools. I DO NOT run SS2 through the modmanager, my cutscenes would never work. I went through the guide on getting cutscenes to work (using the DOS box) and when I start my game I run it as administrator and from my windows start bar.

For the most part everything ran awesome and looked great! But as I'm now about nine hours into it I'm getting crashes almost constantly. (I have just started the Recreations Deck). I have to save  every minute or so.

The error I get after game crash is: "System Shock 2 has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available."

Things that cause me to crash:

VERY COMMON  -Pressing "U" to listen to new disks (almost always makes my game crash. I save before listening to any of them) [strangely enough, after the crash and I go back in the game and try again to listen to the audio disk again, I can listen without issue]

Somewhat Common  -saving the game (this has been happening more often)

Uncommon  -using items in inventory (am I clicking too fast and crashing it out? I don't know)

Uncommon -crashes for reasons unknown

Now the game hasn't been this bad until around the Hydroponics area of the game (around my 7 hour mark of playing), then it was only the audio disks that would crash me out. But now it's just crash fest!