6639eaa236e94

6639eaa2374c1
1 Guest is here.

Topic: How would I get started with SS2? Read 812 times  

6639eaa237ad9ModdedInstall2

6639eaa237b55
Hi all,

I'm new to the System Shock games. I've tried starting SS2 many times because I've heard it's an incredible game, but I can't ever find myself able to get more than half an hour into it. I have a hard time getting past the endless enemy respawning and funky physics. Any advice?

6639eaa237cb0voodoo47

6639eaa237cff
that would suggest alarm is being triggered. so just don't do that.

physics are what they are.
6639eaa238137
If a timer runs down at the bottom of the screen and the music goes haywire, you triggered an alarm and should activate the nearest security computer you can find to cancel the alarm.

There's this short newbie guide: http://www.shtupmod.net/newbies_guide.html

... and of course a truckload of Let's Plays, some Steam guides, and so on. If you google "system shock 2 for beginners" you should find whatever resource you are looking for, such as an introductory walkthrough of the first level or something like that which could ease you into the game.

If you have any specific questions, just ask away. The character creation and initial stats distribution is a bit daunting for some players, and there is the possibility for trap builds, but it's not too bad overall. Lowering the difficulty is also always possible.

6639eaa238397voodoo47

6639eaa2383ee