6649e96f16001

6649e96f164d4
1 Guest is here.

Topic: SS2 Game does not start (video problem) Read 42981 times  

6649e96f16a46XP/ATI Radeon problems?

6649e96f16aaf
Hey ppl. Long time since I've been in here now.

A few things:
I wanted to play Systems Shock 2 again, after a long time.

I followed the instructions like so many times before, 1-3, with no problems.

Since my copy of SS2 is at my registered living address, and not the place where I am currently studying, I only have with me a ISO-image of my copy on my second HHD (which is legal, before everyone jumps the "criminal, criminal"-bandwagon).

While this image is mounted with Deamon Tools, and I try to start the game with the default sshock2.exe, I get this message:
"Please insert the correct CD-ROM, select OK, and restart the application" (which is normal)

I DO have a NOCD .exe that I use to play the game, but this is no longer working:
When I use this instead of the default .exe, I get the standard Windows XP error message:
"This application has a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for any inconvenience."
 :scratch:

And I think the problem could derive from me playing the game on Windows XP, though I never had a problem with this before.

I used to have a nVidia GeForce card, but now I have switched computers and have a ATI Radeon 9200 SE. Could this be the problem?

6649e96f16b6dStill version 1

6649e96f16bbd
^^^^^^

Another thing I've noticed:
The sshock2.exe is still version 1.0.0.0., even after I've used Kolyas Tool to patch the game.

6649e96f16f71The Brain

6649e96f16fcb
^^^^^^

Another thing I've noticed:
The sshock2.exe is still version 1.0.0.0., even after I've used Kolyas Tool to patch the game.

Take a look for Product version-field in version tab at file properties dialog. It should be 2.3.

6649e96f1710eNameless Voice

6649e96f17199
Does the crash happens as soon as you try to run the game?
If so, it's probably not finding required resources.