665c416880384

665c416880ec2
1 Guest is here.

665c41688152e
Hello all!
At first: thanks for that very useful and great forum.
I am kind of new to System Shock 2.

1.)
I started a SS2-session with a friend (LAN) and we already played some hours.
Is it possible, that a second friend can join our game?

2.)
If I want to format my harddisk and to reinstall Windows,
what files do I have to save, that I can continue to play SS2 with my friend in a LAN?
So, I would reinstall Windows and reinstall System Shock 2 + Patch. What files should I copy then into the folder?
Do I have to edit something in the registry, too?

3.)
If I got System Shock 2 installed, can I install it at the same time, again?
So that I would have two System Shock 2 on my system? Each with own save games/options and maybe different modifications? Or would it create problems (maybe in the registry or something?).

4.) I didn't get the saving system...
In the multiplayer game with my friend, I was the one, who always saved our game.
I used all slots for it (started with slot 1, then 2, etc...). Then I saw, that my friend got all my saved games in his loading screen. Is this correct?
He could load my saved games?
If he would do it, would he be my character or still be his character? If he would save our game and overwrite one of "my" slots, would it overwrite my slot at my PC, too?

What's the best way of saving a LAN session?
Should every player save it? Should only one player save it?

665c416881773Nameless Voice

665c4168817cd
No

2 & 3.
The System Shock 2 folder is all you need to play. SS2 does not require any registry settings, apart from the install path, which is only needed to install the patch. Once the game is patched, there is no issue.
However, if you move or rename the SS2 folder, you may have to modify your install.cfg to reflect this change.